The Huntley 158 Education Foundation Surprise Squad toured schools January 28 to award honorees in this year’s Educator of the Year and School Employee of the Year recognition program. Congratulations to all the winners, who will be celebrated at the Foundation’s annual banquet on March 12.

One District-wide Teacher of the Year and one Employee of the Year will be named at the banquet from among the honorees.


  • Mackeben Elementary: Lisa Pontious, Kim Frendries
  • Conley Elementary: Brandi Wargo, Kathy Purdom
  • Heineman Middle School: Lacey Vitale, Peggy Bergquist
  • Early Childhood Center: Carlie Hall, Cathi Mikutis
  • Chesak Elementary: Melissa Juergensen, Rosa Solis
  • Martin Elementary: Catherine Vandy, Cindy Botterman
  • Marlowe Middle School: Suzanne Starnes, Lynda Byrne
  • District Office: Dee DuBrock
  • Leggee Elementary: Cara Contreras, Mike McGee
  • HHS: Steve Styers, Deb Gustafson